Australian books

Article image
Desire by Jessie Cole review – an author reckons with her yearning for intimacy
For fans of Lisa Taddeo’s Three Women, Cole’s second memoir deals with the pain of an ambivalent courtship – while exploring her visceral need for love

Imogen Dewey

11, Aug, 2022 @5:30 PM

Article image
Robert Drewe on finding Australia’s child phenomenon: ‘I thought, “Why hasn’t anyone heard of him?”’
While writing his new novel, the acclaimed author suffered unimaginable grief. But he found ‘strange comfort’ in imagining the life of a long-lost boy wonder

Susan Chenery

05, Aug, 2022 @8:00 PM

Article image
Every Version of You by Grace Chan review – would you want to live in the metaverse?
Set in the 2080s, this Australian debut maps the sci-fi question in a quiet, romantic drama – asking what ties us to the world and each other

Imogen Dewey

04, Aug, 2022 @5:30 PM

Article image
‘Essential’, ‘quietly hopeful’, ‘propulsive’: the best Australian books out in August
Each month, Guardian Australia editors and critics pick out the upcoming titles they’ve already devoured – or can’t wait to get their hands on

Alyx Gorman, Beejay Silcox, Sian Cain, Imogen Dewey, Susan Chenery and Steph Harmon

04, Aug, 2022 @5:30 PM

Article image
Oliver Mol on surviving a 10-month migraine: ‘If I didn’t tell this story it would rot inside me’
Suddenly unable to write, the acclaimed young author took a job on the railway. His memoir Train Lord tells of the refuge and reckoning he found there

Beejay Silcox

29, Jul, 2022 @8:00 PM

Article image
We Come With This Place by Debra Dank review – a jewel to rival Australia’s great desert memoirs
Beauty and pain intertwine as Dank deftly weaves the story of her family, ancestors and country

Tara June Winch

28, Jul, 2022 @5:30 PM

Article image
Three things with Norman Swan: ‘I’m more of a materialist than I thought’
In our weekly interview about objects, the medical journalist tells us about his other area of expertise – stain removal – and his fondness for omelettes

As told to Katie Cunningham

26, Jul, 2022 @5:30 PM

Article image
‘As silly and tacky as possible’: how Jennifer Down celebrated her Miles Franklin win with family
A handmade sash, plastic red carpet and matching custom T-shirts featured in the literary prize winner’s home award ceremony

Caitlin Cassidy

22, Jul, 2022 @3:57 AM

Article image
Enclave by Claire G Coleman review – why shouldn’t we make a utopia?
This action-packed parable uses a dystopian vision to pose another question: why not imagine a future where we get it right – or at least, less wrong?

Imogen Dewey

21, Jul, 2022 @5:30 PM

Article image
Jennifer Down wins 2022 Miles Franklin award for Bodies of Light
Book prize judges have praised ‘ethical precision’ of Melburnian’s second novel, a poised unpacking of the horrors of institutional failure

Imogen Dewey

20, Jul, 2022 @6:19 AM

Article image
‘There’s no substitute for listening’: what being a champion debater taught Bo Seo about arguing over the dishes
After a lifetime in debating, Bo Seo has learned a few things about how to disagree with those both near and far

Lucy Clark

16, Jul, 2022 @8:00 PM

Article image
Why is God a man? The woman who searched the world for a feminist religion
Disillusioned with Pentecostalism, Louise Omer decided to find a religion where women were not subordinate

Sian Cain

15, Jul, 2022 @8:00 PM

1 / 46 pages