New year honours list includes outspoken critics of government

Chris Bryant and Julian Lewis receive knighthoods while Michael Marmot gets Companion of Honour

Sir Michael Marmot, the world-leading expert on health inequalities, has been made a Companion of Honour in the new year honours, among a series of people to be rewarded despite their often outspoken criticism of ministers and government policy.

Marmot, who headed a landmark inquiry into UK health inequalities and has since been vocal about the lack of action to address them, receives one of the most prestigious honours in existence.

The Companion of Honour rewards UK or Commonwealth citizens for long-term prominence in the arts, science, medicine or government, and is limited to just 65 people at any one time.

Marmot, who heads University College London’s Institute of Health Equity, said that as well as being delighted with the award, he felt the decision said “something very good about Britain” given his regular criticisms of government.

In renewed condemnation of policies since 2010, Marmot said austerity “made poor people poorer and deprived those in need of services, markedly increasing health inequalities”.

The current cost of living crisis was, he said, a renewed challenge. “We see it in the drama of public sector workers, after 12 years of pay cuts, striking so they have enough money to feed their children without resort to food banks,” Marmot said. “The poor in Britain are poorer than in most European countries. A policy of low pay for essential workers is not only bad for their health, it defeats government wishes to grow the economy.”

The two MPs given knighthoods in the new year honours have proved similarly troublesome to ministers.

Chris Bryant, the senior Labour backbencher who chairs the Commons standards committee, has been centrally involved in a series of events damaging to government, including the investigations into Tory ex-minister Owen Paterson and Boris Johnson.

Bryant said he was very shocked, calling the news an honour for the whole committee. “I was surprised. I have no idea how this comes about,” he told PA Media.

Julian Lewis, the Tory MP for New Forest East since 1997, humiliated Boris Johnson in July 2020 by becoming elected to lead parliament’s powerful intelligence and security committee, evading an attempted stitch-up by Johnson to install Chris Grayling, a loyalist.

Johnson stripped Lewis of the Conservative whip, and he was forced to sit as an independent for six months.

Alok Sharma, the Tory MP and former minister, was knighted for his work chairing the Cop26 climate summit in Glasgow. Andrew Stephenson, the MP who chaired the Tory party for two months under Boris Johnson, received a CBE.

Among awards for civil servants, Tom Scholar, who was ousted as the head Treasury civil servant by Liz Truss and her then chancellor, Kwasi Kwarteng, is elevated to the Order of the Bath.


Peter Walker Political correspondent

The GuardianTramp

Related Content

Article image
Paramedic in new year honours list calls for global health equality
Nich Woolf spent eight months caring for people in Vanuatu, one of the world’s most remote communities

Mattha Busby

01, Jan, 2021 @6:51 PM

Article image
Iain Duncan Smith among three MPs in new year honours list
Former Tory vice-chairman Bob Neill and Labour’s Diana Johnson also receive honours

Peter Walker Political correspondent

27, Dec, 2019 @10:30 PM

Article image
Community champions dominate new year honours list
Charity fundraisers and volunteers supporting refugees among those recognised for their contribution

Caroline Davies

30, Dec, 2022 @10:30 PM

Article image
Rishi Sunak reportedly set to accept Boris Johnson’s honours list
PM keen to ‘clear the decks’ within weeks, source says, despite prospect of byelections and scrutiny amid Covid inquiry

Nadeem Badshah

07, Jun, 2023 @10:04 PM

Article image
Cabinet Office fined £500,000 over New Year honours list data breach
Regulator says safety of hundreds of individuals was jeopardised after their addresses were posted online

Dan Milmo Technology editor

02, Dec, 2021 @12:46 PM

Article image
The mystery of Boris Johnson’s honours list: why is Sunak putting up with it?
There is no requirement to give the former PM this privilege and the fallout is likely to linger

Rowena Mason Whitehall editor

09, Jun, 2023 @4:42 PM

Article image
New Year honours list rewards terror attack responders
London and Manchester emergency workers recognised along with Twiggy, Margaret Atwood and Michael Palin

Caroline Davies

28, Dec, 2018 @10:30 PM

Article image
Tory kingmaker among six politicians awarded top New Year honours
1922 Committee’s Graham Brady and former Lib Dem leader Nick Clegg are knighted and Cheryl Gillan is made a dame

Rowena Mason Deputy political editor

29, Dec, 2017 @10:30 PM

Article image
Keir Starmer: I won’t hand out resignation honours if I become PM
Labour leader says Sunak ‘waved through’ Boris Johnson’s honours and challenges PM to vote on privileges committee report

Peter Walker Deputy political editor

19, Jun, 2023 @8:34 AM

Article image
Honours committees ‘pressured by No 10 to reward Tory donors’
Former committee members tell Channel 4 News investigation of efforts made to persuade them to toe line

Nadeem Badshah

21, Dec, 2022 @11:48 PM