Jonathan Liew again named columnist of the year as SJAs honour Rob Burrow

  • Liew collects prize for the second year in a row
  • Ally McCoist among other winners on the night

The Guardian’s Jonathan Liew was named columnist of the year for a second successive time at the British Sports Journalism Awards.

Liew, who joined the Guardian in 2019, collected the award at the Westminster Park Plaza event, where broadcaster Piers Morgan was among the winners and Ally McCoist was one of the most popular winners on the night.

Awarding Liew’s prize, the SJA’s citation read: “For the winner, the judges talked of ‘a strong moral compass guiding writing of eloquence, authority and panache’.”

Morgan collected his scoop of the year award for his interview with Cristiano Ronaldo which precipitated the footballer’s exit from Manchester United. He quipped that “until yesterday evening [the player] was the most iconic No 7 in Manchester United history”.

McCoist collected the gong for pundit of the year and after saying “the competition was fierce” couldn’t resist another dig at United’s travails by stating: “I don’t think Roy [Keane] has had a worse 24 hours.”

Elsewhere, the BBC’s Football Focus won Television Show of the Year, while Documentary of the Year went to Rob Burrow: Living With MND, which was aired on BBC Breakfast.

You continue to inspire us every single day @Rob7Burrow. Television Documentary of the Year tonight went to @BBCBreakfast's Rob Burrow: Living With MND programme. Keep on smiling Rob!💙💛 #SJA2022

— Sports Journalists (@SportSJA) March 6, 2023

Burrow, who was diagnosed with Motor Neurone Disease in 2019 after a legendary rugby league career with Leeds Rhinos, was in attendance in London to collect his award, and received a standing ovation from the audience.


Guardian sport

The GuardianTramp

Related Content

Article image
The Guardian's Jonathan Liew named sports writer of the year at SJA Awards
SJA praises Liew’s ‘abundant style’ and ‘genuine insight and emotion’
Guardian’s Andy Bull and Tom Jenkins also receive top prizes

Guardian sport

15, Mar, 2021 @9:35 PM

Article image
‘Biggest honour’: Williamson named England captain for Women’s Euros
Leah Williamson has been named as England’s captain for the European Championship this summer with Millie Bright announced as vice-captain

Suzanne Wrack

05, Apr, 2022 @2:24 PM

Article image
Five-year-old with brain tumour named in Rochdale squad
The young boy, whose brain tumour has been diagnosed as terminal, will be too ill to attend but his shirt will hang in the dressing room and his name will appear on the team sheet

Guardian sport

09, Nov, 2016 @1:32 PM

Article image
Guardian named Newspaper of Year at Football Supporters’ Federation awards
The Guardian has been named the Newspaper of the Year at the Football Supporters’ Federation awards for the fourth year in a row

Guardian sport

05, Dec, 2016 @10:28 PM

Article image
Arsenal's Vivianne Miedema named FWA women's footballer of the year
Arsenal’s Vivianne Miedema has been voted women’s footballer of the year by the Football Writers’ Association

Suzanne Wrack

01, Jul, 2020 @9:26 AM

Article image
Rob Burrow reveals doctor’s positive motor neurone disease outlook
Rob Burrow has received better news about his MND, with a benefit game on Sunday raising funds for the ex-Rhinos half-back

Aaron Bower

08, Jan, 2020 @10:00 PM

Article image
Sinfield puts England coaching journey down to inspirational Burrow
England’s new defence coach Kevin Sinfield identified former rugby league teammate Rob Burrow as being his inspiration

Robert Kitson

03, Jan, 2023 @7:37 PM

Article image
Mohamed Salah and Fran Kirby named PFA players of the year
Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah has been named as the Professional Footballers’ Association player of the year for the 2017-18 season

Ed Aarons

22, Apr, 2018 @10:17 PM

Article image
Guardian Sport’s Will Macpherson named young county cricket journalist of year
The Guardian Sport cricket writer Will Macpherson has been named the young county cricket journalist of the year by the England and Wales Cricket Board

Guardian sport

25, Oct, 2016 @9:30 AM

Article image
Lionel Messi and Megan Rapinoe named Fifa footballers of the year
Lionel Messi, Megan Rapinoe, Jürgen Klopp and Jill Ellis were the main winners at Fifa’s The Best awards

Suzanne Wrack in Milan

23, Sep, 2019 @9:14 PM