Guardian writers win three prizes at 2021 Sports Journalism Awards

  • Jonathan Liew is named SJA’s sports columnist of the year
  • Sean Ingle and Ali Martin also honoured at award ceremony

Three Guardian writers have won British Sports Journalism Awards at Monday’s ceremony. Jonathan Liew was named sports columnist of the year, Sean Ingle won the specialist correspondent of the year award and Ali Martin was named cricket journalist of the year.

Andy Bull received the silver award and Donald McRae the bronze award in the sports feature writer category, with Jonathan Liew also shortlisted. Donald McRae also took home a shared silver medal in the specialist correspondent category. Sean Ingle was also on the shortlist for the live reporting award, while David Hytner was shortlisted for football journalist and Michael Aylwin for rugby journalist.

Awarding Liew’s prize, the SJA’s citation read: “Great columnists can make you laugh, cry and get angry – sometimes all in the same article. They’re also intelligent, well-written and knowledgeable. The winner of this award is all those things.”

Sean Ingle receives his award from Steve Cram.
Sean Ingle receives his award from Steve Cram. Photograph: Handout

Steve Cram presented Ingle with his award, stating the judges’ view that “the winner stood out amongst the fierce competition because of the quality of his writing but also his versatility as a journalist and a wonderful blend of emotion, facts and descriptive framing”.

Martin was unable to collect his award in person due to being in the Caribbean to cover England’s tour of West Indies. “According to the judges, the winner’s submission demonstrated the breadth of his abilities and the key skills of journalistic excellence – news breaking, rigorous interviewing and subject analysis,” read his citation. “There was an excellent exclusive about ECB bonuses and a lovely interview with Jimmy Anderson.”

The Guardian was shortlisted for sports newspaper of the year, and for digital sports publisher at the 2021 awards, organised by the Sports Journalists’ Association. Monday’s ceremony also honoured the Sky Sports presenter Jeff Stelling, who won the Doug Gardner award for his “outstanding contribution to journalism”.


Elsewhere, TalkSport and Sky Sports host Laura Woods won sports presenter of the year, and Chelsea Women manager Emma Hayes took the punditry award for her coverage of Euro 2020 with ITV Sport.

Guardian Sport’s front page, featuring Ali Martin’s story on the cancellation of the England v India fifth Test.
Guardian Sport’s front page, featuring Ali Martin’s story on the cancellation of the England v India fifth Test. Photograph: Front of Guardian sport print section 11.9.2021

At the Football Supporters Association awards in November, the Guardian was named newspaper of the year for the eighth time. Football Weekly was named podcast of the year and Jonathan Wilson picked up the writer of the year prize for the third time.•


Guardian sport

The GuardianTramp

Related Content

Article image
Guardian scoops three prizes at British Journalism Awards
Prizes include investigation of the year for Panama Papers and honours for Sports Direct exposé and 6x9 virtual reality project

Damien Gayle

07, Dec, 2016 @12:31 PM

Article image
Guardian wins Newspaper of Year at Football Supporters’ Federation awards
The Guardian enjoyed a successful evening at the Football Supporters’ Federation awards in London, winning Newspaper of the Year for the fifth time in succession.

Guardian sport

04, Dec, 2017 @11:27 PM

Guardian tops sports journalism awards

The Guardian last night achieved notable success in Sports Journalism Awards, winning more awards than any other newspaper, including the two main awards of the night.

08, Mar, 2005 @8:17 AM

Article image
Guardian and Observer scoop three prizes in British Journalism Awards
Daniel Taylor, Carole Cadwalladr and Aditya Chakrabortty scoop prizes for sports, technology and comment respectively on Monday night

Nicola Slawson

12, Dec, 2017 @12:02 AM

Article image
Kevin McCarra: a pioneer who changed football journalism
The former Guardian football correspondent, who has died aged 62, was crisp, prescient and transformative in his writing

Jonathan Wilson

25, Oct, 2020 @3:44 PM

Article image
Guardian named Newspaper of Year at Football Supporters’ Federation awards
The Guardian has been named the Newspaper of the Year at the Football Supporters’ Federation awards for the fourth year in a row

Guardian sport

05, Dec, 2016 @10:28 PM

Article image
Guardian wins five prizes at British Journalism Awards
Newspaper leads the field thanks to scoops including Dominic Cummings revelations and Luanda Leaks

Archie Bland

09, Dec, 2020 @5:19 PM

Article image
Robert Armstrong, former Guardian rugby correspondent, dies aged 76
Robert Armstrong, who was the Guardian’s rugby union correspondent for more than a decade, has died aged 76

Robert Kitson

18, Nov, 2019 @6:35 PM

Article image
Ex-Guardian editor Alan Rusbridger honoured in British Journalism Awards
Former editor wins Marie Colvin prize for improving reputation of journalism, while Guardian’s HSBC Files series wins investigation of the year and Patrick Kingsley named foreign affairs journalist

Media staff

01, Dec, 2015 @10:02 PM

Article image
Guardian sport’s Suzanne Wrack honoured at AIPS Media Awards
Suzanne Wrack has won an AIPS Media award for her investigation into the abuse of women footballers in Afghanistan

Guardian sport

04, Feb, 2020 @12:01 AM