Marlon James

Article image
Moon Witch, Spider King by Marlon James review – the lion, the witch and the lost child
A sorceress mates with a shape-shifting beast in the uncompromising second instalment of James’s sword-and-sorcery trilogy

Anthony Cummins

28, Feb, 2022 @11:00 AM

Article image
Marlon James: ‘Violence is violent and sex is sexy. You are supposed to be appalled’
The Booker prize-winning novelist on growing up gay in 80s Jamaica, his African fantasy trilogy – and how his mother’s job as a detective has influenced his writing

Lisa Allardice

26, Feb, 2022 @1:00 PM

Article image
Top 10 true crime novels | Denise Mina
Adding an intense layer of meaning to well-known facts, authors including Truman Capote, Kate Summerscale and Gordon Burn raise this genre far above its grubby reputation

Denise Mina

20, Oct, 2021 @11:00 AM

Article image
Inside the Booker Prize: arguments, agonies and carefully encouraged scandals
The long read: Its knack for creating tension and controversy has helped it remain an energising force in publishing for more than 50 years – but how do writers, publishers and judges cope with the annual agony of the Booker?

Charlotte Higgins

05, Oct, 2021 @5:00 AM

Article image
The end of A Brief History of Seven Killings – and our reading group
After 700 gruelling pages, Marlon James finishes on a note of uncertain hope that leaves the reader wondering

Sam Jordison

27, Oct, 2020 @1:57 PM

Article image
A Brief History of Seven Killings: unwieldy, occasionally tedious – and magnificent
A book about Bob Marley, told by everyone but Bob Marley – in the vein of Gay Talese or James Ellroy, Marlon James’s Booker winner brings in a dozen competing voices

Sam Jordison

20, Oct, 2020 @2:02 PM

Article image
A Brief History of Seven Killings is shocking but not gratuitous
The Kingston, Jamaica, that Marlon James depicts in the mid-1970s may be fiction, but it is drawn from hard and bloody fact

Sam Jordison

13, Oct, 2020 @9:07 AM

Article image
Reading group: A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James is our October book
Its huge cast and range of styles has not stopped this study of the attempted assassination of Bob Marley winning global acclaim. I think we’ll enjoy it, too

Sam Jordison

06, Oct, 2020 @12:00 PM

Article image
In brief: House of Trelawney; Black Leopard, Red Wolf; How to Argue With a Racist – reviews
A satirical swipe at the aristocracy, Marlon James’s vicious African fantasy, and a vital rejection of racism

Ben East

09, Feb, 2020 @3:00 PM

Article image
Marlon James: ‘I’m not saying I go commando – but wearing pants would be a cop-out’
The Man-Booker winner on the freedom of wearing dresses, what he wears to write – and why he always asks what Paul Simonon of the Clash would wear

As told to Leah Harper

05, Nov, 2019 @1:15 PM

Article image
Book clinic: which European fiction will revive my love of modernist novels?
Author and critic Alex Preston recommends fiction for fans of modernism

Alex Preston

15, Jun, 2019 @4:59 PM

Article image
Colin Grant: ‘We’re still living with slavery’
From prize-winners Esi Edugyan and Marlon James to debut novelists such as Sara Collins, a new generation of novelists is exploring a painful past

Colin Grant

23, Mar, 2019 @10:00 AM

1 / 5 pages