Marlon James

Article image
Inside the Booker Prize: arguments, agonies and carefully encouraged scandals
The long read: Its knack for creating tension and controversy has helped it remain an energising force in publishing for more than 50 years – but how do writers, publishers and judges cope with the annual agony of the Booker?

Charlotte Higgins

05, Oct, 2021 @5:00 AM

Article image
The end of A Brief History of Seven Killings – and our reading group
After 700 gruelling pages, Marlon James finishes on a note of uncertain hope that leaves the reader wondering

Sam Jordison

27, Oct, 2020 @1:57 PM

Article image
A Brief History of Seven Killings: unwieldy, occasionally tedious – and magnificent
A book about Bob Marley, told by everyone but Bob Marley – in the vein of Gay Talese or James Ellroy, Marlon James’s Booker winner brings in a dozen competing voices

Sam Jordison

20, Oct, 2020 @2:02 PM

Article image
A Brief History of Seven Killings is shocking but not gratuitous
The Kingston, Jamaica, that Marlon James depicts in the mid-1970s may be fiction, but it is drawn from hard and bloody fact

Sam Jordison

13, Oct, 2020 @9:07 AM

Article image
Reading group: A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James is our October book
Its huge cast and range of styles has not stopped this study of the attempted assassination of Bob Marley winning global acclaim. I think we’ll enjoy it, too

Sam Jordison

06, Oct, 2020 @12:00 PM

Article image
In brief: House of Trelawney; Black Leopard, Red Wolf; How to Argue With a Racist – reviews
A satirical swipe at the aristocracy, Marlon James’s vicious African fantasy, and a vital rejection of racism

Ben East

09, Feb, 2020 @3:00 PM

Article image
Marlon James: ‘I’m not saying I go commando – but wearing pants would be a cop-out’
The Man-Booker winner on the freedom of wearing dresses, what he wears to write – and why he always asks what Paul Simonon of the Clash would wear

As told to Leah Harper

05, Nov, 2019 @1:15 PM

Article image
Book clinic: which European fiction will revive my love of modernist novels?
Author and critic Alex Preston recommends fiction for fans of modernism

Alex Preston

15, Jun, 2019 @4:59 PM

Article image
Colin Grant: ‘We’re still living with slavery’
From prize-winners Esi Edugyan and Marlon James to debut novelists such as Sara Collins, a new generation of novelists is exploring a painful past

Colin Grant

23, Mar, 2019 @10:00 AM

Article image
Marlon James: ‘I underwent gay exorcism in Pentecostal church in Jamaica’
Man Booker prize winner tells of how religion intensified his struggle with his sexuality as a youth

Vanessa Thorpe

17, Mar, 2019 @9:00 AM

Article image
Black Leopard, Red Wolf by Marlon James review – violent and cliched
The Man Booker winner calls his fantasy trilogy an ‘African Game of Thrones’. The gore is there, but where’s the subtlety?

Sukhdev Sandhu

22, Feb, 2019 @7:30 AM

Article image
Marlon James: ‘You have to risk going too far’
In 2015, James became the first Jamaican writer to win the Man Booker. His new novel is a hotly anticipated African fantasy epic and here he talks about loving the X-Men, coming out and writing about violence

Alex Preston

17, Feb, 2019 @12:00 PM

1 / 4 pages