Judith Schalansky is ninth author to write secret work for Future Library

The German author’s contribution will remain unseen, alongside contributions from authors including Margaret Atwood and David Mitchell, until 2114

German writer Judith Schalansky has become the ninth author to be selected for the Future Library, which asks authors to create a work that will not be revealed to readers until 2114.

The Future Library is an organic artwork dreamed up by the Scottish artist Katie Paterson. It began in 2014 with the planting of 1,000 Norwegian spruces in a patch of forest outside Oslo, and one writer a year is asked to contribute a manuscript to the project.

The works, unseen by anyone but the authors themselves, are kept in a room lined with wood from the forest in the Deichman library in Oslo. In 2114, the trees in the forest will be felled, and manuscripts of the authors’ works printed for the first time.

Schalansky joins authors including Tsitsi Dangarembga, Margaret Atwood, Ocean Vuong and Karl Ove Knausgård in submitting a work to the Future Library.

The author said she was considering choosing “an ancient genre like a chronicle, a hymn or a lament” for her work, and described the Future Library as a “cult that I joyfully join”.

Schalansky said it was moving to know her text would be printed on the trees grown by the project. “The Future Library gives me the privilege of forming two exceptional relationships – an imaginary one with my shadowy future readers and a very tangible relationship with the raw material which, one day, when my body is long decayed, will help bring my words to life,” she added.

The author was born in East Germany and now lives in Berlin, where she works as a book designer and editor as well as a writer.

Her books include the international bestseller Atlas of Remote Islands, published in the UK as Pocket Atlas of Remote Islands. The book features maps of 50 remote islands alongside Schalansky’s descriptions and stories of their natural and human history. It won the award for most beautiful book of the year from the German Arts Foundation.

Reviewing the book in the Guardian, Robert Macfarlane said it “makes a magnificent case for the atlas to be recognised as literature, worthy of its original name – theatrum orbis terrarum, ‘the theatre of the world’.”

Schalansky is also the author of the novels The Giraffe’s Neck, translated into English by Shaun Whiteside, and An Inventory of Losses, translated into English by Jackie Smith and shortlisted for the International Booker prize in 2021.

Paterson said: “Judith Schalansky is a remarkable author who pays homage to a vanishing natural world. Weaving fiction, autobiography and history, she reflects on the loss of languages, landscapes, cultures and climates so characteristic of our era. Her writing brings the past into the present, calls to mind the forgotten, gives voice to the silenced and mourns the lost.”

The Future Library opened to the public this summer, and the authors selected so far had the opportunity to deliver their books personally into one each of the glass drawers in the “silent room” at the top floor of the Deichman library.

“It is stunning and moving to count myself part of this imaginary community whose texts will one day, when published, dialogue and interact with each other,” Schalansky said.


Sarah Shaffi

The GuardianTramp

Related Content

Article image
Future Library opens secret archive of unseen texts in Oslo
David Mitchell, Sjón, Tsitsi Dangarembga and Karl Ove Knausgård join inaugural celebration of project housing works that will remain unseen until 2114

Rosie Goldsmith

14, Jun, 2022 @2:51 PM

Article image
Elif Shafak joins Future Library, writing piece to be unveiled in 2114
The Turkish novelist follows Margaret Atwood, David Mitchell and Sjón in creating work for publishing project that will only be printed 97 years from now

Alison Flood

27, Oct, 2017 @5:00 AM

Article image
The Guardian view on Oslo’s Future Library: hope in practice | Editorial
Editorial: Trees, vision and shelf space are all needed for an exemplary project that will hide books for a century


21, Jun, 2022 @5:22 PM

Article image
Karl Ove Knausgaard's latest work to remain unseen until 2114
After concluding his bestselling My Struggle sequence, he will write a work for the Future Library, alongside previous contributors Margaret Atwood and David Mitchell

Alison Flood

20, Oct, 2019 @12:30 PM

Article image
Tsitsi Dangarembga’s next work won’t be read by anyone until 2114
The Zimbabwean writer joins authors including including Margaret Atwood and Ocean Vuong who have agreed to lock away new writing in the Future Library

Alison Flood

25, Aug, 2021 @6:00 PM

Article image
Han Kang to bury next book for almost 100 years in Norwegian forest
Prize-winning South Korean author joins Margaret Atwood and David Mitchell as a contributor to Future Library project

Alison Flood

31, Aug, 2018 @8:57 AM

Article image
David Mitchell buries latest manuscript for a hundred years
Author of Cloud Atlas delivers his new work – which won’t be read until 2114 – to Oslo’s Nordmarka forest as part of the Future Library project

Alison Flood

30, May, 2016 @3:58 PM

Article image
'You'll have to die to get these texts': Ocean Vuong’s next manuscript to be unveiled in 2114
Vietnamese-American author and poet joins Margaret Atwood, David Mitchell and Karl Ove Knausgård to lock away work in Norway to be published in 94 years’ time

Sian Cain

19, Aug, 2020 @8:53 AM

Article image
Into the woods: Margaret Atwood reveals her Future Library book, Scribbler Moon
We follow Atwood through a wet forest in Norway as she hands over the manuscript for a book that won’t be read for 100 years. Plus: David Mitchell is named as the project’s next writer

Alison Flood

27, May, 2015 @1:36 PM

Article image
Han Kang hands over book to remain unseen until 2114
Novelist presented the Future Library manuscript wrapped in a ceremonial cloth as used in South Korean rites marking birth and death

Alison Flood

28, May, 2019 @1:52 PM