'The great African novel of the 21st century': Namwali Serpell wins Arthur C Clarke award

The Old Drift takes prestigious science fiction award with what judges called ‘an extraordinary saga that spans eras from Cecil Rhodes to Rhodes Must Fall’

Namwali Serpell has won the UK’s top prize for science fiction, the Arthur C Clarke award, for her first novel The Old Drift, which judges described as “stealth sci-fi”.

The Zambian author’s debut tells the stories of three families over three generations, moving from a colonial settlement by Victoria Falls at the turn of the 20th century, to the 1960s as Zambia attempts to send a woman to the moon, and into the near future. A mix of historical fiction, magical realism and sci-fi, Serpell saw off competition from authors including previous winner Adrian Tchaikovsky and Hugo best novel winner Arkady Martine to take the prize. Originally established by the author Arthur C Clarke with the aim of promoting science fiction in Britain, the award goes to the best sci-fi novel of the year.

Chair of judges Andrew M Butler called The Old Drift “an extraordinary family saga that spans eras from Cecil Rhodes to Rhodes Must Fall, and beyond”, praising it for “interrogat[ing] colonialism from within and point[ing] to the science fictionality of everyday events”.

“The Old Drift is, as one of our judges put it, ‘stealth sci-fi’, with inheritance and infection at its heart,” said Butler. “Our pandemic-ravaged world reminds us how connected our world has been for the last century or more – and this book points to the global nature of science fiction.”

Last year’s winner of the prize, Tade Thompson, called The Old Drift “the great African novel of the 21st century”.

“At last, a book that acknowledges that the African lives with the fantastic and mundane. At last, an African book of unarguable universality,” said Thompson. “Serpell has created something specifically Zambian and generally African at the same time. The Old Drift is everything fiction should be, and everything those of us who write should aspire to. Hats off. Well-deserved win.”

Serpell was born in Zambia and moved to the US as a child. According to analysis by Clarke judge and author Stewart Hotston, she was one of just 14 people of colour whose work was submitted for the prize in 2020, from 121 submissions. Just three of the 14 were British, according to Hotston.

“In my view there were actually more books with problematic depictions of race than there are books by authors from those very communities,” Hotston wrote in the Bookseller in July. “British genre publishing has a problem and it’s structural and that structure is, as they always are, leading to screening of non-white authors because they ‘don’t fit’. They don’t fit the idea of what an author is or what kind of content they should be producing to be acceptable.”

Hotston said it was encouraging to see white editors asking to see more manuscripts by authors from a more diverse range of cultures and races. “Those manuscripts definitely exist,” he said. “However, this willingness has to translate into actual action.”


Alison Flood

The GuardianTramp

Related Content

South African author wins Arthur C Clarke award
Lauren Beukes honoured with top science fiction prize for her novel Zoo City, set in an alternate Johannesburg

Alison Flood

28, Apr, 2011 @10:14 AM

Article image
Laura Jean McKay wins the Arthur C Clarke award
The Australian writer has won the prestigious science fiction prize for her debut novel The Animals in That Country

Alison Flood

27, Sep, 2021 @8:00 PM

Article image
Iain Pears' app-based novel shortlisted for Arthur C Clarke award
Arcadia joins works by Becky Chambers, Adrian Tchaikovsky, JP Smythe, Dave Hutchinson and Nnedi Okorafor

Alison Flood

27, Apr, 2016 @7:30 PM

Article image
Arthur C Clarke award goes to Adrian Tchaikovsky's novel of 'universal scale'
Children of Time, about humans who leave a dying Earth for a terraformed planet where they meet a strange new species, praised for Clarkean sense of wonder

Alison Flood

24, Aug, 2016 @8:00 PM

Article image
Arthur C Clarke award goes to 'classic' novel exploring the limits of pregnancy
Anne Charnock’s novel Dreams Before the Start of Time, which focuses on changing reproductive science, hailed as ‘rich but unshowy’ by judges

Sian Cain

18, Jul, 2018 @8:00 PM

Article image
Colson Whitehead leads Arthur C Clarke award shortlist
The Underground Railroad heads up finalists for science fiction honour in wake of Pulitzer prize win and presidential endorsement

David Barnett

03, May, 2017 @8:00 AM

Article image
Science fiction’s future: where next for the Arthur C Clarke award?
As the prize celebrates its 30th anniversary, its director looks forward to fresh challenges and opportunities in an ever-changing genre

Tom Hunter

28, Apr, 2016 @3:40 PM

Article image
Colson Whitehead adds Arthur C Clarke award to growing prize haul
The Underground Railroad, a fantastic reimagining of US slavery, takes the UK’s pre-eminent science fiction prize a day after being longlisted for the Man Booker

Alison Flood

27, Jul, 2017 @8:00 PM

Article image
Chris Beckett wins Arthur C Clarke award for Dark Eden
Chris Beckett beat Kim Stanley Robinson and Ken MacLeod to win the UK's top science fiction prize for his novel about an incestuous colony stranded on an alien planet

Alison Flood

01, May, 2013 @8:01 PM

Article image
Ann Leckie's novel Ancillary Justice wins Arthur C Clarke award

Debut science fiction novel, narrated by a military space ship, triumphs over work of established authors, writes Alison Flood

Alison Flood

01, May, 2014 @8:00 PM