TS Eliot prize unveils shortlist of 'fearless poets'

Nominees for the £25,000 prize include Jay Bernard, Sharon Olds and Anthony Anaxagorou

Jay Bernard’s Surge, an exploration of the 1981 New Cross fire in south London that killed 13 young black people, is one of 10 collections shortlisted for the prestigious TS Eliot prize for poetry.

Surge has already won the Ted Hughes prize, and is also up for the 2019 Forward prize for best first collection, to be decided next week. Bernard is nominated alongside former winner Sharon Olds, who was picked for Arias, a collection that considers a woman’s intimate life and political conscience, tackling subjects from the cervix to Trayvon Martin.

The chairman of the judges, John Burnside, paid tribute to all the writers on the shortlist, calling them “some of the finest and most fearless poets working today”.

In a list tinged with violence, Anthony Anaxagorou was chosen for After the Formalities, which moves from the racial abuse of an Uber driver on the day of the Brexit referendum to a knife being pulled. Fiona Benson is selected for Vertigo & Ghost, a series of poems about Zeus as a serial rapist, and Ilya Kaminsky for Deaf Republic. Set in an occupied country, Kaminsky’s poems tell of how when soldiers breaking up a protest kill a deaf boy, the citizens of the town all go deaf.

“In an excellent year for poetry, the judges read over 150 collections from every corner of these islands, and beyond,” said Burnside. “Each had its own vital energy, its own argument to make, its own celebration or requiem to offer, and we knew that settling upon 10 from so many fine books would be difficult. Nevertheless, as our deliberations progressed, the same titles kept coming to the fore.”

Vidyan Ravinthiran, who was born in Leeds to Sri Lankan Tamils, is shortlisted for his second collection, The Million-Petalled Flower of Being Here. It is a book of sonnets for his wife, many of which describe life in the north-east for a mixed-race couple.

With numerous poetry awards already under his belt, Paul Farley makes this year’s list for his new collection The Mizzy. The lineup is completed by Deryn Rees-Jones’s Erato, which draws its title from the muse of lyric poetry, Roger Robinson’s A Portable Paradise, and Karen Solie’s The Caiplie Caves. The Canadian poet’s fifth collection, the latter tells of the seventh-century Irish missionary to Scotland, St Ethernan, and how he retreated to the caves of the Fife coast.

At £25,000, the TS Eliot is the UK’s most valuable poetry award. Previous winners include Alice Oswald, Ted Hughes and Carol Ann Duffy. The winner will be announced on 13 January 2020.

The 2019 TS Eliot prize shortlist

After the Formalities by Anthony Anaxagorou (Penned in the Margins)
Vertigo & Ghost by Fiona Benson (Cape Poetry)
Surge by Jay Bernard (Chatto & Windus)
The Mizzy by Paul Farley (Picador)
Deaf Republic by Ilya Kaminsky (Faber & Faber)
Arias by Sharon Olds (Cape Poetry)
The Million-Petalled Flower of Being Here by Vidyan Ravinthiran (Bloodaxe)
Erato by Deryn Rees-Jones (Seren)
A Portable Paradise by Roger Robinson (Peepal Tree Press)
The Caiplie Caves by Karen Solie (Picador)


Alison Flood

The GuardianTramp

Related Content

Article image
TS Eliot prize unveils 'unsettling, captivating' shortlist
Judges say the 10 poetry collections nominated for £25,000 award are ‘as urgent as they are artful’

Alison Flood

15, Oct, 2020 @5:30 AM

Article image
TS Eliot prize unveils ‘voices of the moment’ in 2021 shortlist
Ten collections in competition for the £25,000 award ‘should enter the stage and be heard in the spotlight’, say judges

Lucy Knight

14, Oct, 2021 @6:30 PM

Article image
TS Eliot prize announces 'intensely political' shortlist
Prestigious £25,000 award selects 10 collections showcasing ‘poetry’s ability to engage with language when it is being debased’

Alison Flood

18, Oct, 2018 @11:06 AM

Article image
TS Eliot prize 2011 shortlist revealed
Carol Ann Duffy pitted against Sean O'Brien, Alice Oswald and John Burnside for 'prize most poets want to win'

Alison Flood

20, Oct, 2011 @3:57 PM

Article image
Imlah leads TS Eliot prize for poetry shortlist

News: Mick Imlah's first collection for 20 years is the favourite to win this year's TS Eliot prize for poetry

Alison Flood

30, Oct, 2008 @2:56 PM

Article image
TS Eliot Prize 2013: shortlist announced

Michael Symmons Roberts, Anne Carson and Daljit Nagra are among the lineup for this year's £15,000 prize

Liz Bury

25, Oct, 2013 @3:03 PM

Article image
TS Eliot prize for poetry announces 'fresh, bold' shortlist
Newcomer Sean Borodale joins major names including Sharon Olds and Kathleen Jamie and Simon Armitage

Alison Flood

23, Oct, 2012 @2:08 PM

Article image
TS Eliot poetry prize shortlist stretches to Jamaica and beyond
Claudia Rankine joins past prize winners and debut authors on a shortlist that encompasses questions of racial identity, depression, love affairs and librarians

Alison Flood

22, Oct, 2015 @12:15 PM

Article image
British-Trinidadian dub poet Roger Robinson wins TS Eliot prize
Judges praise A Portable Paradise for finding evidence of ‘sweet, sweet life’ in the bitterness of everyday experience

Sian Cain

13, Jan, 2020 @7:30 PM

Article image
TS Eliot prize goes to Ocean Vuong's 'compellingly assured' debut collection
Night Sky With Exit Wounds, the debut collection by a poet who is the first literate person in his family, hailed as ‘the definitive arrival of a significant voice’

Sian Cain

15, Jan, 2018 @7:30 PM