Robin Robertson wins Goldsmiths prize for innovative fiction with The Long Take

Scottish poet wins £10,000 prize for his ‘narrative poem’ about a D-Day veteran in search of a home in postwar America

The Scottish poet Robin Robertson has won the Goldsmiths prize for the year’s most innovative fiction for his debut novel The Long Take, the story of a D-Day veteran written in a mix of verse and prose.

Robertson, who has won many awards for his poetry, turned to fiction to tell the story of Walker, a D-Day veteran with post-traumatic stress disorder who can’t return home to Nova Scotia after the war and searches for a new way of life in New York, Los Angeles and San Francisco.

The Long Take, which was shortlisted for the 2018 Man Booker prize, beat titles including Rachel Cusk’s Kudos and Olivia Laing’s Crudo to win the £10,000 Goldsmiths prize. The award, given to British and Irish fiction that “breaks the mould or extends the possibilities of the novel form”, has been won in the past by books including Eimear McBride’s A Girl Is a Half-formed Thing and Nicola Barker’s H(a)ppy.

Mixing free verse with text from notebooks and journals, The Long Take also includes prose flashbacks exploring the horrors of war, vintage monochrome photographs and multiple fonts to represent what Walker sees on signs and advertisements.

Chair of judges Adam Mars-Jones called The Long Take “a film noir verse novel full of blinding sunlight and lingering shadows, technically accomplished, formally resourceful and emotionally unsparing”. His fellow judge, the novelist Elif Shafak, praised it as a “book with a big heart”, promising that the beauty of Robertson’s language would “seduce the reader from the very start”.

“With its undeniable beauty, quiet, modest but strong pull, this book will shift something in your soul. By the time you have finished reading it, you won’t quite be the same,” said Shafak.

Robertson describes the book as a narrative poem rather than a novel. “I wanted to challenge myself, and write something on a large scale that could accommodate many of the interests that couldn’t be easily addressed in individual poems: the ambivalence I feel toward cities, particularly American cities, and especially American cities in the pivotal post-war decade – with the best jazz and the best movies,” he said in his Man Booker prize interview.

“I wanted to write about an outsider, a Canadian soldier damaged by PTSD coming to this land of opportunity and finding a country that had won the war but was destroying itself and its people.”


Alison Flood

The GuardianTramp

Related Content

Article image
One long sentence, 1,000 pages: Lucy Ellmann 'masterpiece' wins Goldsmiths prize
Ducks, Newburyport wins £10,000 prize for fiction that ‘breaks the mould’ of the novel, a month after missing out on the Booker

Alison Flood

13, Nov, 2019 @8:00 PM

Article image
'A literary masterpiece': M John Harrison wins Goldsmiths prize for innovative fiction
The Sunken Land Begins to Rise Again wins the £10,000 prize for ‘fiction that breaks the mould’

Alison Flood

11, Nov, 2020 @7:45 PM

Article image
Isabel Waidner wins Goldsmiths prize for ‘mindbending’ Sterling Karat Gold
Waidner’s third novel follows a non-binary migrant who is arrested in London in what has been described as ‘Kafka’s The Trial written for the era of gaslighting’

Alison Flood

10, Nov, 2021 @7:30 PM

Article image
Nicola Barker wins Goldsmiths prize for her novel H(a)ppy
Barker beats novels by Will Self and Jon McGregor to take home the £10,000 literary prize for her narrative-bending vision of a dystopian future

Alison Flood

15, Nov, 2017 @8:00 PM

Article image
Single sentence novel wins Goldsmiths prize for books that 'break the mould'
Mike McCormack’s Solar Bones takes £10,000 prize, making him the third Irish author to win in four years

Claire Armitstead

09, Nov, 2016 @7:30 PM

Article image
DBC Pierre’s smartphone era novel leads Goldsmiths prize shortlist
Meanwhile in Dopamine City, which is told in two columns to mimic our divided attention, is one of six finalists for the award for ‘fiction at its most novel’

Alison Flood

14, Oct, 2020 @7:00 PM

Article image
Lucy Ellmann's long sentence leads to Goldsmiths shortlist
Prize for mould-breaking fiction lists Ducks, Newburyport alongside innovative works by Mark Haddon, Deborah Levy, Amy Arnold, Vesna Main and Isabel Waidner

Alison Flood

02, Oct, 2019 @8:00 PM

Article image
Judging the Goldsmiths prize for fiction | Adam Mars-Jones
As the 2018 shortlist is announced, the chair of this year’s judges explains how they hope to reward more than simple innovation

Adam Mars-Jones

26, Sep, 2018 @8:00 PM

Article image
Novel about John Lennon and primal screaming wins Goldsmiths prize
Award for innovative fiction goes to Beatlebone by Kevin Barry, praised by judges for its ‘spirit of creative risk’

Alison Flood

11, Nov, 2015 @7:30 PM

Article image
Ali Smith wins Goldsmiths prize for bifurcating marvel How to Be Both
Smith’s novel, which has won the £10,000 award for mould-breaking works, comes in two versions: one starting with a Renaissance fresco painter, one with a modern-day teenager in mourning

• Review: How to Be Both

Alison Flood

12, Nov, 2014 @7:31 PM