Arthur C Clarke award goes to 'classic' novel exploring the limits of pregnancy

Anne Charnock’s novel Dreams Before the Start of Time, which focuses on changing reproductive science, hailed as ‘rich but unshowy’ by judges

A novel set in a world where infertility has been eradicated and artificial wombs have become the preferred method of gestation has won this year’s Arthur C Clarke award for science fiction.

Beginning in London in 2034, Anne Charnock’s Dreams Before the Start of Time examines the reproductive decisions of several characters in the same group of families, over multiple generations. Two friends, Millie and Toni, bear children who will in turn experience very different methods of birth over the following decades – in one case, adopting an orphan who was left to gestate in an artificial womb; in another, a man who creates a daughter using only his DNA.

Looking at the ethics of genetic screening and the science of prenatal genetic engineering, Charnock won out over more than 100 novels submitted for the prize.

A science writer for publications including the Guardian and New Scientist, Charnock began to write fiction after working as a foreign correspondent in the Middle East, Africa and India. She self-published her debut A Calculated Life in 2013. It was picked up by Amazon imprint 47 North, which has also published her Arthur C Clarke-winning third novel. Chair of judges Andrew M Butler called it “a delightfully rich but unshowy intergenerational novel that demands rereading”, while award director Tom Hunter said Charnock’s victory was “a much deserved win for a writer whose time has definitely come”.

He added: “Charnock’s multi-generational vision of expanding human reproductive technologies is smart, science-literate fiction that embraces the challenge of humanising big ethical questions, and succeeds by exploring possible future scenarios that feel utterly real.”

Though the judges spent five hours deliberating this year, Hunter said the decision was, eventually, unanimous. “While the books were very topical and hugely powerful, her book felt like a classic of all time, not just 2018. Where the others were sometimes powerful in their anger, this was quiet and all the more powerful for it.”

Charnock saw off competition from Jeff VanderMeer, shortlisted for his novel about biotech, Borne; Omar El Akkad’s American War, set in a future US that has been ravaged by climate change; Spaceman of Bohemia, a satirical novel about space exploration by Jaroslav Kalfar; C Robert Cargill’s apocalyptic robot thriller Sea of Rust; and Gather the Daughters by Jennie Melamed, which explores gender dynamics in an isolated island cult.

Charnock received the £2,018 prize – the winnings are adjusted annually to match the year – at a ceremony on Wednesday night in Foyles bookshop in central London.


Sian Cain

The GuardianTramp

Related Content

Article image
Colson Whitehead leads Arthur C Clarke award shortlist
The Underground Railroad heads up finalists for science fiction honour in wake of Pulitzer prize win and presidential endorsement

David Barnett

03, May, 2017 @8:00 AM

Article image
Science fiction’s future: where next for the Arthur C Clarke award?
As the prize celebrates its 30th anniversary, its director looks forward to fresh challenges and opportunities in an ever-changing genre

Tom Hunter

28, Apr, 2016 @3:40 PM

Article image
Colson Whitehead adds Arthur C Clarke award to growing prize haul
The Underground Railroad, a fantastic reimagining of US slavery, takes the UK’s pre-eminent science fiction prize a day after being longlisted for the Man Booker

Alison Flood

27, Jul, 2017 @8:00 PM

Article image
Chris Beckett wins Arthur C Clarke award for Dark Eden
Chris Beckett beat Kim Stanley Robinson and Ken MacLeod to win the UK's top science fiction prize for his novel about an incestuous colony stranded on an alien planet

Alison Flood

01, May, 2013 @8:01 PM

Article image
Arthur C Clarke award goes to Adrian Tchaikovsky's novel of 'universal scale'
Children of Time, about humans who leave a dying Earth for a terraformed planet where they meet a strange new species, praised for Clarkean sense of wonder

Alison Flood

24, Aug, 2016 @8:00 PM

Article image
Iain Pears' app-based novel shortlisted for Arthur C Clarke award
Arcadia joins works by Becky Chambers, Adrian Tchaikovsky, JP Smythe, Dave Hutchinson and Nnedi Okorafor

Alison Flood

27, Apr, 2016 @7:30 PM

Article image
The Arthur C Clarke awards put women first
David Barnett: After last year's embarrassing all-male shortlist, organisers are this year reminding voters that women write SF too

David Barnett

17, Jan, 2014 @12:16 PM

Article image
Michel Faber's space missionary joins MR Carey's zombies on Arthur C Clarke shortlist
The Book of Strange New Things and The Girl With All the Gifts lead contenders for UK’s top SF prize

Alison Flood

08, Apr, 2015 @9:20 AM

Article image
'The great African novel of the 21st century': Namwali Serpell wins Arthur C Clarke award
The Old Drift takes prestigious science fiction award with what judges called ‘an extraordinary saga that spans eras from Cecil Rhodes to Rhodes Must Fall’

Alison Flood

23, Sep, 2020 @6:00 PM

Article image
Arthur C Clarke award goes to Jane Rogers
Author's first venture into science fiction, The Testament of Jessie Lamb, beats some of the biggest names in the genre

Alison Flood

03, May, 2012 @8:36 AM