Previous Nobel literature prize winners

Winners of the Nobel prize for literature since 1960

2004: Elfriede Jelinek, Austria
2003: JM Coetzee, South Africa
2002: Imre Kertesz, Hungary
2001: VS Naipaul, Trinidad-born Briton
2000: Gao Xingjian, Chinese-born French
1999: Gunter Grass, Germany
1998: Jose Saramago, Portugal
1997: Dario Fo, Italy
1996: Wislawa Szymborska, Poland
1995: Seamus Heaney, Ireland
1994: Kenzaburo Oe, Japan
1993: Toni Morrison, United States
1992: Derek Walcott, St. Lucia
1991: Nadine Gordimer, South Africa
1990: Octavio Paz, Mexico
1989: Camilo Jose Cela, Spain
1988: Naguib Mahfouz, Egypt
1987: Joseph Brodsky, Russian-born American
1986: Wole Soyinka, Nigeria
1985: Claude Simon, France
1984: Jaroslav Seifert, Czechoslovakia
1983: William Golding, Britain
1982: Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Colombia
1981: Elias Canetti, Bulgarian-born Briton
1980: Czeslaw Milosz, Polish-born American
1979: Odysseus Elytis, Greece
1978: Isaac Bashevis Singer, Polish-born American
1977: Vicente Aleixandre, Spain
1976: Saul Bellow, Canadian-born American
1975: Eugenio Montale, Italy
1974: Eyvind Johnson and Harry Martinson, Sweden
1973: Patrick White, British-born Australian
1972: Heinrich Boll, West Germany
1971: Pablo Neruda, Chile
1970: Alexander Solzhenitsyn, Russia
1969: Samuel Beckett, Ireland
1968: Yasunari Kawabata, Japan
1967: Miguel A Asturias, Guatemala
1966: Shmuel Y Agnon, Polish-born Israeli, and Nelly Sachs, German-born Swede
1965: Mikhail Sholokhov, Russia
1964: Jean-Paul Sartre, France (declined award)
1963: Giorgos Seferis, Turkish-born Greek
1962: John Steinbeck, United States
1961: Ivo Andric, Yugoslavia
1960: Saint-John Perse, French


The GuardianTramp

Related Content

Previous Nobel Prize for Literature winners

11, Oct, 2001 @2:08 PM

Article image
The Nobel literature prize: place your bets

Lindesay Irvine: Household name or obscure scribbler, we want to hear who you think is in the frame. Just remember, they're meant to be 'idealistic'

Lindesay Irvine

08, Oct, 2008 @12:32 PM

Article image
Herta Müller takes Nobel prize for literature
The 2009 Nobel prize has been awarded to Herta Müller, for depicting the 'landscape of the dispossessed' with 'the concentration of poetry and the frankness of prose'

Alison Flood

08, Oct, 2009 @11:10 AM

Article image
Poet tipped in Nobel prize for literature
Swedish poet Tomas Tranströmer declared favourite by bookmakers, with nearest rivals also poets

Alison Flood

30, Sep, 2010 @10:45 AM

Article image
Nabokov, Neruda and Borges revealed as losers of 1965 Nobel prize
Nobel archives have been opened to reveal who was nominated for the 1965 prize for literature, a controversial year won by divisive victor Mikhail Sholokhov

Alison Flood

06, Jan, 2016 @3:47 PM

Article image
Alternative Nobel literature prize goes to Maryse Condé
The New Academy prize, organised to fill the gap left by the cancellation of 2018’s official award, goes to Guadeloupean novelist

Alison Flood

12, Oct, 2018 @12:00 PM

Herta Müller wins the Nobel prize for literature

Herta Müller, the Romanian-born German author whose work is driven by themes of oppression, exile and dictatorship, has been named by the Swedish Academy as the winner of the 2009 Nobel prize for literature

08, Oct, 2009 @11:57 AM

Odds on for the Nobel prize for Literature
With this year's prize set to be announced in early to mid October, Ladbrokes have unveiled their list of contenders. So who is the smart money on?

William Skidelsky

26, Sep, 2009 @11:05 PM

Leader: In praise of ... the Nobel prize in literature
Leader: Naguib Mahfouz, the great Egyptian novelist who died yesterday, would in all likelihood have been largely unread outside his own country and language had it not been for a single act: the 1988 decision by the Swedish Academy to award the Nobel prize in literature to the author of Children of Gebelawi.


30, Aug, 2006 @11:15 PM

Article image
Who will win the Nobel prize for literature? | Michelle Pauli

Michelle Pauli: Roth, Murakami, Doctorow: we've placed our bets on the Nobel prize for literature, but who do you think will – or should – win tomorrow?

Michelle Pauli

07, Oct, 2009 @3:51 PM