Previous Nobel Prize for Literature winners

Who won (and who refused) since 1945

2000: Gao Xingjian, China
1999: Gunter Grass, German
1998: Jose Saramago, Portuguese
1997: Dario Fo, Italian
1996: Wislawa Szymborska, Polish
1995: Seamus Heaney, Irish
1994: Kenzaburo Oe, Japanese
1993: Toni Morrison, American
1992: Derek Walcott, St. Lucian
1991: Nadine Gordimer, South African
1990: Octavio Paz, Mexican
1989: Camilo Jose Cela, Spanish
1988: Naguib Mahfouz, Egyptian
1987: Joseph Brodsky, Russian-born American
1986: Wole Soyinka, Nigerian
1985: Claude Simon, French
1984: Jaroslav Seifert, Czech
1983: William Golding, British
1982: Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Colombian
1981: Elias Canetti, Bulgarian-born Briton
1980: Czeslaw Milosz, Polish-born American
1979: Odysseus Elytis, Greek
1978: Isaac Bashevis Singer, Polish-born American
1977: Vicente Aleixandre, Spanish
1976: Saul Bellow, Canadian-born American
1975: Eugenio Montale, Italian
1974: Eyvind Johnson and Harry Martinson, both Swedish
1973: Patrick White, Australian
1972: Heinrich Boll, German
1971: Pablo Neruda, Chilean
1970: Alexander Solzhenitsyn, Russian
1969: Samuel Beckett, Irish
1968: Yasunari Kawabata, Japanese
1967: Miguel A. Asturias, Guatemalan
1966: Shmuel Y. Agnon, Polish-born Israeli, and Nelly Sachs, German-born Swede
1965: Mikhail Sholokhov, Russian
1964: Jean-Paul Sartre, French (declined award)
1963: Giorgos Seferis, Greek
1962: John Steinbeck, American
1961: Ivo Andric, Yugoslav
1960: Saint-John Perse, French
1959: Salvatore Quasimodo, Italian
1958: Boris Pasternak, Russian (forced to decline)
1957: Albert Camus, French
1956: Juan Ramon Jimenez, Spanish
1955: Halldor Laxness, Icelandic
1954: Ernest Hemingway, American
1953: Winston Churchill, British
1952: Francois Mauriac, French
1951: Par Lagerkvist, Swedish
1950: Bertrand Russell, British
1949: William Faulkner, American (awarded in 1950)
1948: TS Eliot, U.S.-born British
1947: Andre Gide, French
1946: Hermann Hesse, Swiss
1945: Gabriela Mistral, Chilean

The GuardianTramp

Related Content

Previous Nobel literature prize winners

Winners of the Nobel prize for literature since 1960.


13, Oct, 2005 @2:16 PM

Article image
VS Naipaul wins 2001 Nobel Prize

VS Naipaul is this year's winner of the Nobel Prize for literature, the world's most prestigious and - with a value of $1,000,000 - richest literary award. The announcement was made at noon today in Stockholm.

Staff and agencies

11, Oct, 2001 @12:10 PM

Article image
The Nobel literature prize: place your bets

Lindesay Irvine: Household name or obscure scribbler, we want to hear who you think is in the frame. Just remember, they're meant to be 'idealistic'

Lindesay Irvine

08, Oct, 2008 @12:32 PM

Article image
Herta Müller takes Nobel prize for literature
The 2009 Nobel prize has been awarded to Herta Müller, for depicting the 'landscape of the dispossessed' with 'the concentration of poetry and the frankness of prose'

Alison Flood

08, Oct, 2009 @11:10 AM

Article image
Poet tipped in Nobel prize for literature
Swedish poet Tomas Tranströmer declared favourite by bookmakers, with nearest rivals also poets

Alison Flood

30, Sep, 2010 @10:45 AM

Article image
Alternative Nobel literature prize goes to Maryse Condé
The New Academy prize, organised to fill the gap left by the cancellation of 2018’s official award, goes to Guadeloupean novelist

Alison Flood

12, Oct, 2018 @12:00 PM

Herta Müller wins the Nobel prize for literature

Herta Müller, the Romanian-born German author whose work is driven by themes of oppression, exile and dictatorship, has been named by the Swedish Academy as the winner of the 2009 Nobel prize for literature

08, Oct, 2009 @11:57 AM

Odds on for the Nobel prize for Literature
With this year's prize set to be announced in early to mid October, Ladbrokes have unveiled their list of contenders. So who is the smart money on?

William Skidelsky

26, Sep, 2009 @11:05 PM

Leader: In praise of ... the Nobel prize in literature
Leader: Naguib Mahfouz, the great Egyptian novelist who died yesterday, would in all likelihood have been largely unread outside his own country and language had it not been for a single act: the 1988 decision by the Swedish Academy to award the Nobel prize in literature to the author of Children of Gebelawi.


30, Aug, 2006 @11:15 PM

Article image
Who will win the Nobel prize for literature? | Michelle Pauli

Michelle Pauli: Roth, Murakami, Doctorow: we've placed our bets on the Nobel prize for literature, but who do you think will – or should – win tomorrow?

Michelle Pauli

07, Oct, 2009 @3:51 PM