'Buildings that defy categorisation' – Arata Isozaki wins 2019 Pritzker architecture prize

The 87-year-old, known for his visionary ideas including an inflatable concert hall, wins architecture’s Nobel prize equivalent

He’s designed an inflatable concert hall, an underground sports arena and envisaged entire cities floating above the earth’s surface. Now, at 87 years of age, Arata Isozaki has been crowned the winner of the 2019 Pritzker architecture prize, an honour regarded as the Nobel prize of architecture.

Regarded as a visionary who helped foster an architectural dialogue between the east and west, Isozaki’s style has remained fluid for more than half a century of work. He first made waves with his futuristic 1962 City in the Air project, in which Tokyo’s Shinjuku district was reimagined with a new city suspended over the old one on tree-like structures. Though unrealised, the project was a taste of what was to come: among Isozaki’s best-known works are the red sandstone Museum of Contemporary Art in Los Angeles, the twisting, metal Art Tower Mito in Ibaraki, Japan and the Palau Sant Jordi, a 17,000-person sports arena designed for the 1992 Summer Olympic Games in Barcelona, that sits partially below ground in order to draw focus to the surrounding hillside.

Visionary ... Arata Isozaki.
Visionary ... Arata Isozaki. Photograph: Courtesy of the Pritzker Architecture Prize

In their praise of Isozaki, the jury noted: “In his search for meaningful architecture, he created buildings of great quality that to this day defy categorisations.”

Isozaki was born in Ōita on the island of Kyushu, in 1931. The 1945 atomic bombing of nearby Hiroshima had a profound impact on him as a child. “I grew up on ground zero,” he recalled. “It was in complete ruins, and there was no architecture, no buildings and not even a city. Only barracks and shelters surrounded me. So, my first experience of architecture was the void of architecture, and I began to consider how people might rebuild their homes and cities.”

Submerged ... Palau Sant Jordi in Barcelona, Spain
Submerged ... Palau Sant Jordi in Barcelona, Spain Photograph: Photo courtesy of Hisao Suzuki

Isozaki had travelled the world several times by the time he was 30. “I experienced many places before I started designing buildings,” he said. “I wanted to feel the life of people in different places around the world. I travelled extensively inside Japan but also to the Islamic world, villages in the deep mountains of China, south-east Asia, and metropolitan cities in the US. Through this, I kept questioning: ‘What is architecture?’”

After graduating from the Department of Architecture at the University of Tokyo in 1954, Isozaki designed buildings in his hometown: Ōita Medical Hall and Ōita Prefectural Library were both heavily influenced by European brutalism. Isozaki went on to fuse these ideas with those from the Japanese postwar metabolist movement, in which designers took inspiration from plants, the oceans and organic biological growth.

Tsukuba Center, 1979-83, Ibaraki, Japan.
1983: Tsukuba Center, Ibaraki, Japan. Photograph: Yasuhiro Ishimoto

Isozaki has not showed signs of slowing down. Following the 2011 tsunami that devastated parts of Japan, he created Ark Nova with Anish Kapoor, a travelling inflatable concert hall that could visit the affected areas. He recently designed the Shanghai Symphony Hall in China and the Allianz Tower in Milan, the latter in collaboration with Italian architect Andrea Maffei.

The Pritzker architecture prize was founded in 1979, and each year honours an outstanding living architect or architects who has produced consistent and significant contributions to humanity and the built environment through the art of architecture. This year’s jury, which included 2007 winner Richard Rogers and 2010 winner Sejima Kazuyo, summarised Isozaki’s lifetime achievements by noting: “[He] became the first Japanese architect to forge a deep and long-lasting relationship between east and west. Possessing a profound knowledge of architectural history and theory, and embracing the avant garde, he never merely replicated the status quo but challenged it.”

Isozaki is the 46th laureate of the Pritzker prize, and the ninth to hail from Japan. The 2019 Pritzker prize ceremony will take place in France this May, accompanied by a public lecture in Paris.


Tim Jonze

The GuardianTramp

Related Content

Article image
Japanese architect Shigeru Ban wins 2014 Pritzker prize

The 56-year-old is renowned for crafting structures from housing to art galleries from cardboard tubes

Oliver Wainwright

24, Mar, 2014 @9:58 PM

Article image
Arata Isozaki obituary
Versatile architect who first came to prominence in the 1960s with visionary schemes for the postwar rebuilding of Japan

Oliver Wainwright

03, Jan, 2023 @4:20 PM

Article image
Wang Shu wins 2012 Pritzker architecture prize

First Chinese architect to win prestigious award is praised for his 'strong sense of cultural continuity and reinvigorated tradition'

Mary Hennock in Beijing

28, Feb, 2012 @2:57 PM

Article image
Balkrishna Doshi, 90, wins Pritzker prize for architecture
The Le Corbusier disciple, who harnessed modernism to Indian culture, has been praised for an architecture “that is serious, never flashy or a follower of trends”

Oliver Wainwright

07, Mar, 2018 @3:02 PM

Article image
Pritzker prize for architecture won by little known Catalan trio
The most prestigious award in architecture goes to three-person Spanish company who avoid the international limelight and ‘flee from fashions’

Oliver Wainwright

01, Mar, 2017 @3:01 PM

Article image
Peter Zumthor wins the Pritzker architecture prize

Swiss architect attains the highest recognition in his field

13, Apr, 2009 @3:36 PM

Article image
China’s ugliest buildings: contest to celebrate unsightly architecture begins
This year’s contenders include a violin-shaped church and a ‘welcome to hell’ glass bridge joining two mountains

Vincent Ni China affairs correspondent

20, Sep, 2021 @1:52 PM

Article image
The 'spaces between buildings' – Seoul's first architecture biennale
From Zaha Hadid’s bulbous plaza to a ‘library’ of flora planted across a skygarden, the South Korean capital is using its architecture festival to look to the future – and atone for the costly sins of the past

Oliver Wainwright

01, Nov, 2017 @5:00 PM

Article image
Chilean architect Alejandro Aravena wins 2016 Pritzker prize
Social housing visionary, who engaged residents in designing their own homes, urges architects to address issues of poverty, pollution and segregation

Oliver Wainwright

13, Jan, 2016 @2:33 PM

Article image
Walking tall: Hastings pier wins the Stirling architecture prize
Nicknamed the Plank, de Rijke Marsh Morgan’s stark wooden wonder – using timber reclaimed from previous fires – was praised for changing ‘the idea of what architecture is’

Oliver Wainwright

31, Oct, 2017 @8:45 PM