United States District Court for the Southern District of Ohio

United States federal district court in Ohio

84 Users like

United States District Court for the Southern District of Ohio
(S.D. Ohio)
Map of Ohio Federal Court Districts.jpg
Appeals toSixth Circuit
EstablishedFebruary 10, 1855
Chief JudgeAlgenon L. Marbley
Officers of the court
U.S. AttorneyDavid M. DeVillers

The United States District Court for the Southern District of Ohio (in case citations, S.D. Ohio) is one of two United States district courts in Ohio and includes forty-eight of the state's eighty-eight counties. Appeals from the court are taken to the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit at Cincinnati (except for patent claims and claims against the U.S. government under the Tucker Act, which are appealed to the Federal Circuit).

The court is divided into two divisions. The Eastern Division, which sits in the Joseph P. Kinneary United States Courthouse at Columbus, serves the counties of Athens, Belmont, Coshocton, Delaware, Fairfield, Fayette, Franklin, Gallia, Guernsey, Harrison, Hocking, Jackson, Jefferson, Knox, Licking, Logan, Madison, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Morrow, Muskingum, Noble, Perry, Pickaway, Pike, Ross, Union, Vinton, and Washington

The Western Division sits at both Cincinnati and Dayton. Cases from the counties of Adams, Brown, Butler, Clermont, Clinton, Hamilton, Highland, Lawrence, Scioto, and Warren are heard at Cincinnati in the Potter Stewart United States Courthouse. Cases from the counties of Champaign, Clark, Darke, Greene, Miami, Montgomery, Preble, and Shelby are heard at Dayton.

The United States Attorney's Office of the Southern District of Ohio represents the United States in civil and criminal litigation in the court. As of October 28, 2019, the United States Attorney is David M. DeVillers. On February 12, 2014, Peter C. Tobin was confirmed to be the United States Marshal.

Share this page