Utah Supreme Court

The highest court in the U.S. state of Utah

25 Users like

Utah Supreme Court
Since 1998, the Utah Supreme Court has met in the Scott M. Matheson Courthouse. The Court previously met in the Utah State Capitol.
LocationSalt Lake City, Utah Utah
Composition methodExecutive appointment with legislative confirmation and retention elections
Authorized byUtah State Constitution
Appeals toSupreme Court of the United States
Number of positions5
WebsiteOfficial site
Chief Justice
CurrentlyMatthew B. Durrant
SinceMarch 26, 2012
Jurist term endsJanuary 5, 2025

The Utah Supreme Court is the supreme court of the state of Utah, United States. It has final authority of interpretation of the Utah Constitution. The Utah Supreme Court is composed of five members: a chief justice, an associate chief justice, and three justices. All justices are appointed by the governor of Utah, with confirmation by the Utah Senate. The five justices elect one of their own to serve as chief justice and another to serve as associate chief justice, each for a term of four years.

Search News

Where can I visit?

  • Salt Lake City

    State capital city in Utah, United States

  • Salt Lake City and County Building

    Historic building in Utah, USA

  • Salt Lake City Public Library

    Public library in Salt Lake City, Utah, United States

  • Geography of Salt Lake City
  • Utah Supreme Court

    The highest court in the U.S. state of Utah

  • Salt Lake City Public Library hostage incident
  • Wells Fargo Center (Salt Lake City)
  • Neumont College of Computer Science
  • Salt Lake City metropolitan area

    Metropolitan area in Salt Lake, Summit and Tooele counties in Utah, United States

  • Gallivan Center

How do I get there?

Utah Supreme Court

Share this page