Mississippi House of Representatives

Lower house of U.S. state legislature

83 Users like

Mississippi House of Representatives
Mississippi State Legislature
Coat of arms or logo
Term limits
New session started
January 7, 2020
House Speaker
Philip Gunn (R)
since January 3, 2012
Speaker pro Tempore
Jason White (R)
since January 7, 2020
Minority Leader
Robert Johnson (D)
File MS House.svg
Political groups
Length of term
4 years
AuthorityArticle IV, Mississippi Constitution
Salary$10,000/year + per diem
Last election
November 5, 2019
(122 seats)
Next election
November 7, 2023
(122 seats)
RedistrictingLegislative Control
Meeting place
Mississippi State Capitol building in Jackson.jpg
House of Representatives Chamber
Mississippi State Capitol
Jackson, Mississippi
Mississippi State Legislature

The Mississippi House of Representatives is the lower house of the Mississippi Legislature, the lawmaking body of the U.S. state of Mississippi. According to the state constitution of 1890, it is to comprise no more than 122 members elected for four-year terms. To qualify as a member of the House candidates must be at least 21 years old, a resident of Mississippi for at least four years, and a resident in the district in which he or she is running for at least two years. Elections are held the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November.

Share this page