Mississippi State Senate

Upper state chamber of a state of the United-States of America

63 Users like

Mississippi Senate
Mississippi State Legislature
Coat of arms or logo
Term limits
New session started
January 7, 2020
Delbert Hosemann (R)
since January 7, 2020
President pro Tempore
Dean Kirby (R)
since January 7, 2020
Minority Leader
Derrick Simmons (D)
since July 31, 2017
MS Senate Mississippi Nov 2019.svg
Political groups
Length of term
4 years
AuthorityArticle IV, Mississippi Constitution
Salary$10,000/year + per diem
Last election
November 5, 2019
(52 seats)
Next election
November 7, 2023
(52 seats)
RedistrictingLegislative Control
Meeting place
Mississippi State Capitol building in Jackson.jpg
State Senate Chamber
Mississippi State Capitol
Jackson, Mississippi
Mississippi State Legislature

The Mississippi Senate is the upper house of the Mississippi Legislature, the state legislature of the U.S. state of Mississippi. The Senate is composed of 52 senators representing an equal number of constituent districts, with 54,704 people per district (2000 figures). Senators serve four-year terms with no term limits.

Like other upper houses of state and territorial legislatures and the federal U.S. Senate, the Senate can confirm or reject gubernatorial appointments to the state cabinet, commissions and boards.

The Senate convenes in the State Capitol in Jackson.

Share this page